Emblem:

Country: Australia

Capital: Canberra

Introduction to time zones & DST in Australia

There are totally 5 time zones in Australia, including Australia Western Standard Time, Australia Central Western Standard Time, Australia Central Standard Time, Australia Eastern Standard Timeand Lord Howe Standard Time (LHST).

Daylight Saving Time in Australia begins on the first Sunday in October, and ends on the first Sunday in April. Take 2017 as an example, DST in Australia ends on April 2nd, and begins on October 1st.

It is worth nothing that, some of the states in Australia don't observe Daylight Saving Time, including Western Australia, Queensland, Northern Territory and Eucla, while the rest states of Australia do observe DST, including the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania and Victoria.

DST periods of Australia (2019 ~ 2020)

Year Date Type
2019 2019-4-7 End of DST
2019-10-6 Start of DST
2020 2020-4-5 End of DST
2020-10-4 Start of DST

Time zones currently being used in Australia

Australia is currently using 6 time zones AWST ACWST ACST AEST ACDT AEDT

Offset Time Zone Example City Current Time
UTC +08:00 AWST Perth 08:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
UTC +08:45 ACWST Eucla 09:39 Sun, 2019-03-24
UTC +09:30 ACST Darwin 10:24 Sun, 2019-03-24
UTC +10:00 AEST Brisbane 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
UTC +10:30 ACDT Adelaide 11:24 Sun, 2019-03-24
UTC +11:00 AEDT Sydney 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24

Time zones to be used in Australia

Offset Time Zone Commences
UTC +09:30 ACST 2019-04-07
UTC +10:00 AEST 2019-04-07

Time of Cities in Australia

AWST (UTC +08:00)

City Time
Perth 08:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Mandurah 08:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Geraldton 08:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Busselton 08:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
City Time
Exmouth 08:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Carnarvon 08:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Kalbarri 08:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Shark bay 08:54 Sun, 2019-03-24

ACWST (UTC +08:45)

City Time
Eucla 09:39 Sun, 2019-03-24

ACST (UTC +09:30)

City Time
Darwin 10:24 Sun, 2019-03-24
City Time
Alice springs 10:24 Sun, 2019-03-24

AEST (UTC +10:00)

City Time
Brisbane 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Gold Coast 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Rainbow beach 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Sunshine coast 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Sunshine Coast 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Townsville 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
City Time
Cairns 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Toowoomba 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Mackay 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Bundaberg 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Hervey bay 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Airlie beach 10:54 Sun, 2019-03-24

ACDT (UTC +10:30)

City Time
Adelaide 11:24 Sun, 2019-03-24
City Time
Barossa 11:24 Sun, 2019-03-24

AEDT (UTC +11:00)

City Time
Sydney 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Melbourne 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Canberra 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Newcastle 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Coffs Harbour 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Wollongong 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Gippsland 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Hobart 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Geelong 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Ballarat 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Bendigo 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Launceston 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
City Time
Torquay 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Wagga Wagga 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Port macquarie 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Warrnambool 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Broken Hill 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Queenstown Australia 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Katoomba 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Cooma 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Devonport 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Byron bay 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Port fairy 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24
Currie 11:54 Sun, 2019-03-24

Geographic Location of Australia